The immigration process in Australia is a points-based system. If you are interested in applying for an Australian Permanent Residency Visa, it is a must to follow this point-based system. The point system is applicable to some of the visa categories and not all.

Subclass 189, 190, and 489 visas under the skilled migration program are points tested. The applicant has to earn a minimum of 65 points to apply for these visas.

For the business migration path, there are only two streams in subclass 188. These streams are points-based and you must score a minimum of 65 points to be eligible to apply for the visa.

Every visa category has different eligibility criteria. Therefore, the calculation of points varies from one category. The more points you have, the stronger would be your permanent visa application case.

Details Visa Subclass
189 190 491 482
PR Visa Validity 5 years 5 years
Occupation must be listed? Yes Yes Yes Yes
Family visa Yes Yes Yes Yes
Education, Employment, English skill requirements Yes Yes Yes Yes
Sponsorship State Regional State Employer
PR Eligibility It is a PR. Although applicant has to live 2 yrs in sponsored state Work for 3 years out of 5 years with minimum salary of AUD53, 900 P.A in Regional Areas to apply for PR depends on applicant’s eligibility
Temporary Visa 5 Years. Applicant can switch between the regions 2 – 4 Years
Priority Processing N/A N/A Applicable N/A
Enrolment to Medicare Yes Yes Yes No
Skills assessment 2-3 2-3 2-3 2-3
Expression of Interest (EOI) Yes Yes Yes
State sponsorship 2-3 2-3 2-3 2-3 months for Employer nomination
Process Timelines 4-8 4-8 4-6 4-6